“Somebody Back East Is Sayin’ “Why don’t he write?”


The title of this post is taken from my favorite line in the movie, “Dances With Wolves”.  Kevin Kostner (playing Lieutenant Dunbar) and Robert Pastorelli (who played Timmons, the mule skinner), come across skeleton during their journey to Fort Sedgwick.  The Skinner says jokingly, “…Why don’t he write?”  During my years in Boys Town, I was usually one of the first in line during mail  call.  There was nothing better than receiving a friendly letter from folks.  Perhaps it my own background that causes me to persist is encouraging ALL of you to make use of our US Postal Service!  You may be surprised at the positive response you’re met with when the recipient of your personalized note arrives at its destination.  My Cousin Greg tells me even today, how he remembers and appreciates all of the mail he received from me during his time in the military.  I discovered after her passing, that my Grandmother had been saving every card and letter she ever received.  If too much time passed, she would dig out one of my older letters to read, until something more up-to-date arrived!

For my card-sending, letter writing friends, and those who love to recognize “special days”, here is a friendly reminder.  Easter is coming up April 20th.   The day represents many things to many people, but I won’t get into that now.  Let me just say that MY fondest memories of Easter, was dinner after church at the Blue Boar Buffet with Aunt Frances and Uncle Gene!  Most all the greeting cards I’ve designed, are appropriate for a special Easter note.

On May 11th, many folks will celebrate Mothers Day.  It’s a day that I can’t just get into for my own reasons, BUT I do encourage those of you who have a decent relationship with your mother, to give her the recognition she deserves.  As dear ‘ole Father Diersen used to tell me, “You should at least recognize her existence, for without her, there would be no you.”  Regardless, think about sending your Mom that much over-due letter in appreciation!   Flowers are nice, but a floral card with a letter is something she’ll enjoy long after the bouquet has wilted!

LOTS of folks will be graduating soon.  I DO create personalized announcements and matching First Class Postage for these events, however allow a little extra time for approval for the Review Committee if you’re having special postage created.  Otherwise, there are a lot of options to choose from regarding unique little gifts for the graduate in your life.

Call me old fashioned, but I am STILL a believer in the special meaning of hand-written cards and notes.  I’ve always been one that enjoyed receiving “friendly mail”.

It’s just a thought, and doesn’t take a lot of effort to make someone in your life feel special!

Thanks for listening….

This entry was posted in Animal Postage, anniversary gifts, Appreciation, Arizona Art, Arizona Mountains, Art & Culture, Art Distribution, award winning art, Baby Postage, Baby Showers, Birth Announcements, Birthday Cards, Blank Greeting Cards, Bridges, Canyons, Cat Postage, childhood memories, Childrens Parties, Christmas Cards, Christmas Postage, Death Valley, Deep Purple, Desert Paintings, Famous Animals, First Class Postage, Floral Greeting Cards, Get Well Cards, graduation cards, graduation gifts, graduation postage, graphic design, Holiday Cards, Holiday Postage, housewarming gifts, Interstate Travel, Marketing Art Work, Memories, midwestern artists, Mojave Desert, Native American Folklore, Party Invitations, Posters Cards Gifts, Print On Demand, reprints, retirement party, save the date cards, Sunrise Paintings, Thank You Cards, Trucker Art, Trucker Buddy, Trucking, Trucking Artists, United States Postage, vintage art, wall art, wall hangings, wedding designs, wedding gifts, wedding invitations, wedding planning, wedding postage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

