Dragoon Arizona Formations


The nuns at St. Pauls, where I began  my grade school education, constantly complained of my penmanship.  Often, my “p’s” were backwards. Or my “q’s” looked like “g’s.  My 2nd grade teacher, Sister Mary Regina used to thump me in the head, telling me “You can do better Mr. Buckman”.  I took typing class mid-way through my freshman year in Boys Town, only because assignments in ANOTHER class I was taking, were required to be at least legible, and I was struggling.  As a typist, I consider myself mediocre, but  I soon became fond of the task. I could actually read what I had put to paper!   Throughout High School, some instructors returned what I considered to be well constructed work, with notes, “Unable to decipher…” or “Please re-write.” when assignments were written in my illegible longhand.  Even my guidance counselor got involved, noting  on one of my  freshman report cards, “A college will expect better penmanship.” (I STILL have that report card in one of my scrapbooks!).  Hence, the decision to take up typing…  What does this have to do with ANYTHING…?

“Intense volcanic eruptions. Erosive forces. Crustal disturbances. Vicious floods. These events and more, contributed to the formation of the world we live in. Why then, are we able to attain such calm, such inspiration from the remainder…”

As “trucking” evolved with the times, I began carrying my laptop on the road.  It became a blessing, being able to at least keep legible notes to accompany the photos I’d taken throughout the day.  Not always could I keep up with the camera nor the miles….  As the material accumulated, I became more and more reliant on the computer.  I truly have thousands of photos and notes stored here, for future use.  I guess “the future” is now…

 Often, after unloading meat in Phoenix, I knew with forewarning from my broker that the return load would originate out of Nogales Arizona,  on the US/Mexico Border.  I also knew that I was destined for a lengthy wait for my load of produce to clear customs, get off loaded from their delivery trucks, then sorted and aligned by destination.  This meant sitting for nearly an entire day in Nogales.  One of my last loads out of there in the Western Star was tomatoes to a produce buyer in Kansas City.  When I owned my trucks, I didn’t “sit” well.  Which meant a great deal of “bobtailing” and “discovering” instead of sitting around the truck stop or shippers parking lot watching t.v. or videos in the truck,  like a bump on a log…

Nogales

Nogales

On Arizona #82 and SR 90 it was only about 93 miles to the town of Dragoon which is located halfway between Willcox and Benson, just off Interstate 10 in Arizona. Dragoon, and the local Dragoon Mountain Range takes its name from a U.S. Cavalry unit.  I gathered a great deal of “inspiration” there during my idle time.  And since ‘mid-’08 Skip was right along with me.  Heat of the dessert and snow of the mountains…

Arizona

The piece, “Arizona Formations”  and “Up The Canyon” was inspired by my time and travels around  Ragoon.

At least take the time to read my thoughts, regarding these two  pieces if you want an understanding of my thoughts during my years on the road…  By clicking on the links, you will be taken to my artwork.

Thank you for visiting the work and what I’ve been doing since becoming disabled, hope you enjoy the scenery  as much as I did…

This entry was posted in Appreciation, Arizona Art, Arizona Mountains, Art & Culture, Art History, Blank Greeting Cards, Boys Town, Boys Town Alumni, Canyons, childhood memories, Colorful Art, Deep Purple, Desert Paintings, First Class Postage, Get Well Cards, Holiday Postage, horses, Interstate Travel, Memories, midwestern artists, Mojave Desert, Native American Folklore, Nebraska Travel, Nogales Arizona, Posters Cards Gifts, Ragoon Arizona, reprints, Rural, save the date cards, St. George Utah, Summer, Thank You Cards, Trucker Buddy, Trucking, United States Postage, vintage art, wall art, wall hangings, Western Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

