Horse Project Part 3


Where was I?  Oh yes…  I skipped over saddle “assembly” and “tail attachment” but as you can see, “Rusty” is beginning to take shape.  The saddle is actually 5 pieces of wood per side.  I shape and form the saddle, then “halve” it so that both sides match.  Once both halves are doweled to the body, finishing touches are made with a drum sander…  Same with the tail.  It too is doweled to Rustys’ body (support comes in awhile!).  And like my Dad, all pieces are solid oak or walnut…

IMG_7463

Next, ‘ole Rusty gets mane and tail trim.  The purpose is two-fold.  Not only does the trim dress up and create a more three-dimensional result, but if you look closely, the trim overlaps places where pieces of the body have been joined.  Therefore, the mane and tail trim, which are also doweled, strengthen the result.

IMG_7473

I used to send photographs to my Dad, as these projects progressed.  I hope he’s looking’ down from heaven now, with approval!

IMG_7475

Next, Rusty is given eyesight.  Nothing complicated, and though I’ve tried a dozen different ways to do this, I seem to revert back to a plain old hole saw…  Oh and meanwhile, a LOT of hand-sanding is taking place, as there will be some unreachable places in the future, but I STILL want the end result to feel as smooth as glass.

IMG_7489

After the cinch (support between the chest area and body) and saddle horn are attached, Rusty gets another fine sanding with 320-grit paper, then he receives a coat of red-oak stain…  He gets hung out to dry while I work on his other parts…    Unlike Dads old shop in Kentucky, this time of year, I have to use a space heater in the work shop to aid in drying!

IMG_7494

In the end, I  prefer a sort of “worn” antique sort of look, so I’ve hit a few spots with darker stain (my own mixture!) and lightly sanded a few other places before Rusty gets his legs…

IMG_7497FINALLY!  He’s starting to look like something, but there is still a LONG way to go before this horse is ready to ride!

Thank you for visiting and I DO appreciate those of you who invest in my graphic art work!  Share it with your friends!  Perhaps I can wrap this up next go around….

This entry was posted in "Flower Planters, Alameda Christian School, Animal Postage, Animals, anniversary gifts, Art & Culture, award winning art, Baseball memorbilia, Birthday Cards, Blank Greeting Cards, Boys Town Alumni, Boys Town Reunions, Cat Postage, childhood memories, Christmas Postage, Columbine Symbolism, Custom Invitations, Deep Purple, Desert Paintings, Edgar Degas, Egyptian Art, engagement ideas, Famous Animals, Female Portraits, First Class Postage, Floral, Floral Greeting Cards, Get Well Cards, graduation cards, graduation postage, interior decorating, Interstate Travel, Louisville Kentucky, Memories, midwestern artists, Mojave Desert, My Dog Skip, Nebraska Bridges, Nebraska Travel, Omaha Nebraska, Philadelphia Art, Popcorn Art, Popcorn Growers, Posters Cards Gifts, Qualities of the Wolf, Rocking Horses, Rosenblatt Stadium, St. George Utah, St. Joe Missouri, Summer, Thank You Cards, Trucker Buddy, Trucking, Union Pacific Railroad, United States Postage, wall art, wall hangings, wedding designs, wedding gifts, wedding invitations, wedding planning, wedding postage, Western Artists, Wooden Rocking Horses and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

