Horse Project Part 2


Picking up where I left off…  Following in Dads footsteps, I hardly EVER throw away “chunks” of wood!  Maybe that’s why I can hardly get my car in the garage!  Here, incorporating wooden dowels, I’m creating one large board out of three small ones!

IMG_7460

Once the glue is set and I have a large enough piece to work with, it gets run through the planer as is the fate of all future pieces, in order to accomplish a uniform thickness.  THEN, let the imagination begin…  Yes, I still have Dads old pattern he mailed, but I tend to deviate a great deal, adding my own flair to the end result….

IMG_7457

And so the body of “Rusty” (I always name them ahead of time as it gives me an idea of where I want the design to go) is composed of seven pieces of wood…

IMG_7459

Funny, when I’m carving out the legs for any of my horses, a line from the movie, “Forrest Gump” comes to mind.  “Lieutenant Dan!   You have legs!  Magic legs!”  And “magic” it is, as the legs are composed of three boards each…

By the way, have you seen my latest art pieces?

This entry was posted in "Flower Planters, Animal Postage, Animals, Appreciation, Art & Culture, Baseball memorbilia, Bird Feeders, Birth Announcements, Blank Greeting Cards, Boys Town, Boys Town Alumni, Boys Town Reunions, Bridgeman Art Library, Bridges, Cat Postage, Childrens Parties, Christmas Postage, Coffe Cup, College Baseball, CWS, Death Valley, Deep Purple, Easter, engagement ideas, Get Well Cards, graduation gifts, graduation postage, Greek Mythology, Iris Photography, Iris Symbolism, Jazz, Kentucky, Oakland California Posters, Omaha Nebraska, Popcorn Growers, Qualities of the Wolf, R & B, Trucking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

