My Dads “West”…


Dennis & Troy

My enthusiasm and passion for all things west of the Mississippi began at an early age.  My paternal Dad (Joseph Carl Bowman) was involved with horses well before I was born.  In a scrapbook my mother kept (which I feel VERY fortunate to have salvaged) are entries and a few faded photos from…  Well, since my birth.  There ARE a few things in the book kept since before I was born, which sometime I will write about…  But for now…

Dad has been gone since ’77, and there is really no one to ask.  I have to rely on memory, entries in the scrapbook, and thanks to the Internet, old newspaper articles.  Dad kept a few horses at a place owned by folks I only knew as “Uncle Hillard and Aunt Sarah”. I will never know how, or if they were really related…  Dad must have known them awhile.  In my old scrapbook is an entry on the day I was born, saying Hillard & Sarah stopped by Nortons Infirmary (where I was born) and gave my mother a silver dollar (don’t know where that ever ended up!).   I stray…  Dads’ involvement with horses goes back as far as I remember.  After their divorce, Dad continued with the horses. No one enjoyed a good saddle horse more than my Dad. Yet, I remember him involved with “Dressage”, Quarter Horses and Paints.   On the weekends, if we weren’t out trail riding, we were at least at Hillards, grooming, feeding and riding.  On other occasions I remember spending a LOT of time at Churchill Downs.  Not in the stands, but around the stables, visiting with all of Dads horse friends.  Dad, Hillard & Sarah got together on my 5th birthday, presenting me with my saddle (see above photograph)!  I was able then, to ride Dads favorite horse, “Troy” as well as the Paint he called “Trigger” (named after the movie star horse!)

When my mother remarried, she married a man (Anthony Thomas Buckman) who had an unending passion for the West.  Not the modern-day west, but the West inhabited by the Native American tribes of old.  His interest in horses was only that they played a huge role in the way his “West” was transformed.  However, from Dad I  gained an immense appreciation for the history, the land and the people.  Dad and I shared the peak of a butte during the early winter of 1974 in Montana.  We were able to spend a great deal of time and conversation.  One of things I remember thanking him for, was the introduction to “his west” early in my childhood.  I learned to love the works of Remmington…

…and Bierstadt…

…and Bodmer…

Although I often feel, as Dad (Tony) stated to me during that Montana trip, that I was born 150 years too late.  Even today, I am uncertain as to what generation I belong.  I so much love Dad’s old West…  The mountain men…  The explorers.  Yet, I’ve entered the “technology” age (with apprehension & ignorance).  At 58 years old, I am till searching for who I am and what I’d like to do…  You may very well see a change in future writings, as I struggle with what to do with the 8 footlockers of material from my past.  Yes.  8 footlockers!  Actually, I was searching for “job history” information and a very old resume I KNEW was stored away somewhere when I became distracted….

Stay tuned for an explanation …

This entry was posted in Animals, Appreciation, Art & Culture, Art History, award winning art, Blank Greeting Cards, Boys Town, Boys Town Alumni, Bridgeman Art Library, Bridges, Canyons, childhood memories, Christmas Postage, Death Valley, Edgar Degas, First Class Postage, Get Well Cards, graduation postage, Holiday Cards, horses, Hospitals, housewarming gifts, Interstate Travel, Kentucky, Louisville Kentucky, Memories, midwestern artists, Mojave Desert, Native American Folklore, Nebraska Travel, Omaha Landmarks, Omaha Nebraska, Posters Cards Gifts, reprints, Rural, save the date cards, St. George Utah, St. Joe Missouri, Summer, Sunrise Paintings, Thank You Cards, United States Postage, Vintage Vehicles, wall art, wall hangings, Western Artists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

