Happy Belated Birthday Golden Gate


Well, I missed out – kind of.  I intended to participate in the celebration of the 75th birthday of the Golden Gate Bridge, via my blog and my own artwork.  BUT, the schedule has been so maddening as I continue to attempt to recover from my most recent surgeries.  I missed the day.

I have a different way of looking at life sometime, and this includes the fact that I see bridges (the ones we utilize to cross rivers, canyons, and yes, bays) as metaphors.  With regard to the Golden Gate, I’ve crossed into San Fransisco many times in the 1700 or so mile journey from the meat plants of Omaha, to the various grocery houses in the bay area.  Most of my crossings were from the east to the west, as my reloads were usually along the 101 from Gilroy down to Bakersfield and points South.

Fog Shrouded Golden Gate Postcard
Fog Shrouded Golden Gate Postcard

 In MY work, each piece carries a passing philosophy.  I DO enjoy including bridges and focusing on them in art work.   I intended to dig through the archives of photographs in order to paint MY interpretation of the Golden Gate before the celebration.  But as the date neared, the frequency of doctor visits increased… In honor of the Bridge’s 75 years of glory I’m going about it in a different way by sharing some of my favorite artwork and photographs created by other artists.

The Golden Gate Bridge was completed after more than four years of construction at a cost of $35 million. It was opened to vehicular traffic on May 28, 1937 at twelve o’clock noon, ahead of schedule and under budget.

 While they say only five lives were lost when building the Empire State building, one of the most interesting facts is that only eleven workers died during construction of the Golden Gate Bridge.   In the 1930s, bridge builders expected 1 fatality per $1 million in construction costs, and builders expected 35 people to die while building the Golden Gate Bridge. One of the bridge’s safety innovations was a net suspended under the floor. This net saved the lives of 19 men during construction, and they are often called the members of the “Half Way to Hell Club.”

 The bridge is a lovely shade of “International Orange,” or orange vermilion, not really gold. It was selected for the way it blends with the natural elements surrounding it. Bridge lore tells that the U.S. Navy wanted to paint it black with yellow stripes to be sure it was seen by passing ships.  Can you imagine

I have fond memories of that part of the world, and wanted to pass along my belated  happy-birthday wishes!  If you’re interested, all of the photos and artwork I’ve included here are for sale from the same site which carries my own artwork.  I’m sure these artists and photographers would appreciate a visit from you.

Meanwhile, thanks for stopping by!

This entry was posted in Appreciation, Art & Culture, Art History, Blank Greeting Cards, Bridges, City, First Class Postage, Get Well Cards, Interstate Travel, midwestern artists, Oakland California Posters, Posters Cards Gifts, save the date cards, Vintage Vehicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

