Another Attempt At Bleeding Hearts


The picture below, was my first attempt at painting the flower, Bleeding Heart.  The original photo was provided by a friend of mine who has a plant or two of her own.

When I first bought this house, it had sat empty for over a year.  The yard and landscaping had been overcome with weeds and an abundance of “overgrowth”.  One of the first plants I invested in, for a small flower bed in the front yard, was a Bleeding Heart.  I was in awe of its delicate appearance when I saw them at the nursery.  Unfortunately the plant only made it a couple of years.  Around here, I can kill most any plant I invest in!  Around here there is a philosophy that if I WANT it to grow, it will die.  If I’m trying to get rid of it, it will propagate like rabbits!

No other plant bears perfect heart-shaped flowers like those of the Bleeding Heart. The outstanding characteristic of the flower is no doubt their shape.   As the plants’ name suggests they bear heart-shaped flowers, from which a little “drop of blood” dangles at the bottom.  They are quite delicate in appearance.  I handled mine much as if they were fine pieces of china!  Alas, I still killed ’em!

This next print (above) is my second attempt at duplicating the intricate qualities of the Bleeding Heart.  In later years I learned that if you press the flowers between the pages of a heavy book and a couple of napkins, you’ll have papery-thin little hearts to adorn letters or valentines.   That is if YOUR plant is living!  That process REALLY DOES work and what a neat idea for drying and pressing flowers!

If you turn one of these flowers upside down and pull the two halves apart, you’ll see a lady in a pink bathtub, or perhaps you’ll see a white lyre with strings of silk.  There is even a story of a prince, presenting the halves of this flower to his beloved, “seeing” pink rabbits in their shape!

What is more enchanting than long slender sprays of delicate pink hearts arching gracefully in a springtime garden, adorning your living room walls?  BOTH of these pieces are available from canvas to poster material AND a variety of sizes.  My painting may be included in a greeting to a friend via greeting cards, and even decorating outgoing mail with the newly approved United States Post Office First Class Postage!  You can order the postage by simply clicking on the stamp of your choice!

For Angie Postage Design

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile, I’d like YOUR opinion of this work.  Being my own worst critic, I know I’ll try again to communicate the delicate and fragile appearence of this flower.  Heck, I may even try planting another one before it’s all over!  But I’d sure like to hear your thoughts!

This entry was posted in Appreciation, Art & Culture, Art History, Blank Greeting Cards, Chinese Culture, Christmas Postage, First Class Postage, Floral, Floral Greeting Cards, Holiday Cards, midwestern artists, Omaha Nebraska, Posters Cards Gifts, save the date cards, Spring, Summer, Thank You Cards, United States Postage, wedding designs, wedding invitations, wedding planning, wedding postage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Attempt At Bleeding Hearts

  1. Karin Noren says:

    Bleeding hearts are not particularly delicate though they look it… They like a bit of shade and if left a lone, will do a pretty good job of multiplying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

