Brown Eyed Girl Interpretations And Nostalgic Memories


I’ve held this piece back, for a long long time, struggling to find the words to describe it.  The other day, I was telling someone my philosophy of, “Honesty is the best way…” (regarding a business transaction) and a light bulb came on.  I remembered this piece was still in storage…

This is a work that I had done more for myself than anyone else.  Especially “the public”.  I only worked on it during those “nostalgic moments” when I allowed my thoughts to wander into the past.  Not that I wasn’t thrilled with the work…  It simply represented another time in my life.  With the holidays inundating me, and my mind dwelling more on the past than the present lately, I finally decided to share this painting, with a VERY conservative narration. 

In 1967 Van Morrison wrote and sang;

“So hard to find my way,
Now that I’m all on my own.
I saw you just the other day,
My how you have grown,
Cast my memory back there, Lord
Sometime I’m overcome thinking ’bout
Making love in the green grass
Behind the stadium with you
My brown-eyed girl
You my brown-eyed girl…”

As I worked on this piece, the classic song, “Brown Eyed Girl”, released in May of ’67 rolled over and over in my mind. The songs original lyrics were considered too suggestive for many radio stations when it was released and it had to be re-written. “Making love in the green green grass…” was replaced with, “…laughin’ and a runnin’….”.  Years later, it became “acceptable” to play the originally intended versions.

Paul Williams, the American music journalist and writer, wrote that this “…is a song about youth and growing up and memory…”.   And so too, is this recent work of mine. I silently sang in my mind…

“Do you remember when… We used to sing,
Sha la la la la la la la la la la te da”

It was my desire to have those fondly remembered experiences, come across in this work.

I am presenting this print at 24 x 36 on Archival Heavyweight Paper in the matte finish.  YOU can order a different size (larger or smaller) to suit your decorating needs.

This entry was posted in Appreciation, Art History, Blank Greeting Cards, Posters Cards Gifts, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

