Equestrian Paintings


My physical therapy began last week.   I DID promise to browse around during my down-time, on the Bridgeman Art Library site.  Here are a few pieces I thought others may enjoy.  Some folks may be bored with the accompanying information on each of the paintings but as Rod Stewart sang, “Every picture tells a story…”

Jockey flexed forward standing in the saddle wrappedcanvas

I have a print in one of my bedrooms by Leroy Nieman called “Female Jockey”.  The colors and style are VERY similar to this piece, “Jockey Flexed Forward Standing In The Saddle”.  This would look perfect in the same metallic bronze frame…  The original piece by Dutch Artist, Edgar Degas is in a private collection BUT you can invest in an excellent quality copy by clicking on the picture!  I chose to display this on a 24 x 33 stretched canvas, BUT you may choose and size and paper-type that fits your budget!

Abdul Medschid' the chestnut arab horse, 1855 print

Carl Constantin Steffeck was a English artist.  He created  “The Abdul Medschid The Chestnut Arab Horse”, around 1855.  I LOVE the painting, but it’s a lengthy name.  I believe I would have just called the painting, “One Sock”!  I went to the other extreme, in displaying this piece, opting for a 20 x 16 print on Poster Paper.  But again, you can choose your own print quality as you browse around!

Beatrice' print
 

Lastly, if you’re a horse lover, and have an empty space on your walls at home, perhaps “Beatrice” would fit in with your decor. Carl Constantin Steffeck was a Czech artist, who painted the white Arab saddle horse, also around the year 1855.  “Beatrice” belonged to Helmuth Graf von Moltke.

I suppose depending on your viewpoint, horses can be seen as livestock, pets, or companions.  I’ve been fortunate in my lifetime, to have experienced all three categories!  I just need a bigger house to display all of the Equestrian art work I’m interested in!

Time to shut down the dictation software and get to therapy…  Thank you everyone, for stopping by.  Enjoy the journey!

This entry was posted in Art History, Bridgeman Art Library, Edgar Degas, Posters Cards Gifts, Rural and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

