“Goin’ Home” Happy Saturday


Skip In Hiding

Happy Saturday, world!  Skip and I are lying low, and sharing some of my new and old “truck” art, this round. Since my posting “Thursday In Court”  I’ve received tremendous feedback. On the blog, Facebook, snail mail and my regular e-mail!  I should mention.  With Hurricane Irene hitting land…  My problems seem minor…  

One friend wrote: ” Oh my Goodness, Dennis, I thought this was just “A Cute Story!”  until I saw  the tickets, etc.”
My Grandma raised me…  What were Grandmas’ words?  As a little kid, whenever I was busted for some minor infraction she’d say, “Don’t tell me any stories!  Tell me the truth or I’ll get a switch!”  The Skip Saga has NOT been “a story”!    AND “the truth” is why I’ve been adamant about “My day in court…” BUT, after the response I am getting, I am feeling much better about it all…  I hope no one minds, but I have been consolidating all of the comments, well-wishes and e-mail, on the “Comments” section in “Out On Bond”.

I’m not sure he wants to be named just yet, but a few of you may recognize him from the following; In the 70’s I managed a garage. The owner of the place has two sons, both of which were still in bikes and trikes when I was first hired. I watched both sons grow up through the years. The day came when the eldest son was old enough to help out and work around the shop. Eventually, he went to college and then law school. I haven’t talked to the family for years. Until the other day. The young man who I watched grow up and go to college, is now a partner in a prestigious law firm here in Omaha. HE wrote me, provide his direct-office-telephone number and DEMANDED that I call him next week. Not only did I hear from this friend from 30+ years ago, two other attorneys, whom I DON’T know, wrote to tell me they would gladly represent us!!! ALL over a 13 pound dog crossing the street! It’s all going to be okay I think!Meanwhile, I’ll keep drawing and painting and photographing as I am able!

Okay then –  Everyone enjoy the weekend, and thank you ALL for your support!!!

 

Pokin’ A Hole In The Zone

“There is no filter I have found that extracts trucking out of your blood. Once it’s there, it’s there. Sitting here at home on the “injured” list is NOT where I want to be!”

It’s Part Of The Job

“While I was working on this piece, many truckers, familiar with my art, suggested several different captions; “Ice Road Truckers Are Sissys, WE Run The Lower 48!” Or, “Chaining Up Is Not An Option”. Yet, I thought back to memorable winters in this business, and my own experiences. Being snowed in for two days, with only four other trucks, at the rest area on Donner Pass in ’77. Having an old 74 Cabover Peterbuilt gel-up on me outside of Sidney Nebraska during an all out blizzard. Crawling along, as many have done, with your head hanging out of the driver’s side window, just to see the tracks in the road. In more modern times, “Going through the woods…” when they officially close the main highways. All in an effort, to just do your job. These personal experiences, all of these memories, I have tried to express in this piece. I know the feeling of isolation, wondering how deep the next drift will be. I know the determination of “…This load WILL be on time.” And I know the pride we all share, in surviving yet another storm. We truly are professionals at what we do, and I am proud to have been a part of it for so many miles.”

Thank-You everyone for stopping by…

We offer five different print sizes from Portfolio to Colossal for all of your decorating and presentation purposes. Made with premium UV-resistant archival ink, my prints are available on seven different media, from basic poster paper to canvas!

This entry was posted in Blank Greeting Cards, Interstate Travel, My Dog Skip, Nebraska Humane Society, Nebraska Travel, Posters Cards Gifts, Trucker Buddy, Trucking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

