Art Class & Other Influences


While Skips’ fate is still up in the air, my interest in art continues.  This brief piece discusses some of what influences me…  I DO appreciate everyones concern over my criminal dog!

With no formal education in the Arts, other than Mrs. Robinsons  introductions during my involvement in her Art Class and Mr. Clarks encouragement to “expand” my world while in Boys Town, I have never really studied “The Masters.”  Instead I’ve spent time browsing the Internet, seeking knowledge of styles, lighting and inspiration.  15th Century Oil, portraits, still life…  It ALL influences me in one way or another.  I wanted to share one of my favorite artists and his work.

Lake Tahoe By Bierstadt Albert printAlbert Bierstadt  was a German-American painter best known for his huge landscapes of the American West. In obtaining the subject matter for these works,  Bierstadt joined several expeditions during Westward Expansion of the United States. Though not the first artist to record these sites, Bierstadt became one of the foremost painter of these scenes for the remainder of the 19th century.  I hope you enjoy his work as I have.

By clicking on the featured painting, you will be taken to a site which specializes is reprints of some of the masters.  Walter, Cezanne, Rembrandt and many other glorious paintings are represented on this site.  Enjoy your visit!  I’ve spent countless hours there, browsing around!

This entry was posted in Art History, Blank Greeting Cards, Posters Cards Gifts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

