Walmart


I HAD to come back and edit this!  The writing below makes it sound as if I shop lifted some flowers from Wal-Mart!!!  THAT is not the case!!!  I only clipped a few of the buds and petals from the flowers that were on display, NOT the entire plant!  Forgive the re-posting of this blog!  This morning as I was working on another piece, it suddenly occured to me how the previous writing must have sounded!  AND, I’m headed over there this morning, to explain to the garden department manager, what I did!

I owe Wal-Mart an apology. Please don’t look down your nose at me if you’re a flower affectianato.  As my art reflects, I love flowers too!  Upper end gardeners prefer to purchase their nursery supplies at reputable, quality nursery or garden centers and would probably grimace at the thought of buying their spring treasures at Wal-Mart.  I’m not in a position to do any Spring planting as I usually do, but it’s refreshing to see all of the blooming plants available this time of year.   That isn’t the point.  I happened to be running errands and had forgotten to swing by the lumber yard for a can of paint for a “project” I am working on.  In the scheme of things, the local Wal-Mart was on my path between the grocery, the post office and my route back home.  And they have a paint department.

There was a gentle breeze blowing and it looked like the pansies placed at the front entrance were waving to me.  Their petals have such humanistic facial features, you can’t help but love them.  Throughout history pansies have been linked with love.
Puck, the fairy spirit from A Midsummer Night’s Dream used the nectar of the pansy to make “man or woman madly dote upon the next live creature that it sees.”  But that isn’t the point either!

Pansies print

I made my purchase of flat black paint and was headed out the entrance when it occurred to me that I’d never incorporated a pansy in any of my art work.  And they were still waving to me.  It’s been a very long time since I’ve had any planted around the house.  I think my last display was when I had three or four half-whiskey barrels converted to planters and THAT has been years ago.  On my way to the car I made the conscious decision to “pluck” a few of the pansies and bring them home for an art project.  Instead of working in the garage and using the black paint I’d just invested in, I chose to paint my Wal-Mart pansies.Dedicated To Coffee Drinkers mug

I promise, when finances and time permit, I’ll return to Wal-Mart and purchase a few flats of flowers.  Meanwhile, I DO apologize for pilfering a few pansy tops!  However, the results seem to justify the effort.  I must not feel too awfully guilty, the coffee tastes just as good!

“Pansies” is one of my largest pieces.  It is available as large as 52 x 69.  A gloss print is okay as long as you’re using non-glare glass when framing.  The smallest print available comes in 11 x 15.  Otherwise, post cards, coffee mugs and greeting cards are also available.  Approval for USPS postage is pending….

This entry was posted in Animals, Appreciation, Boys Town, Bridges, City, Coffe Cup, Easter, Fall, Floral, Holiday Cards, Interstate Travel, Nebraska Travel, Posters Cards Gifts, Rural, save the date cards, Spring, Summer, Thank You Cards, Trucker Buddy, wedding designs, wedding invitations, wedding planning, wedding postage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walmart

  1. Nessa says:

    Dennis, I love this painting. Pansies are one of my favorite flowers. I’m trying to find a good place to hang your painting so I can buy it.

    Like

  2. Thank you Nessa, for your recent purchase! PENNIES!

    Like

  3. Pingback: “Do-Overs” | Dennis Buckman Photography Based Art

Leave a Reply

